2013 KSMS Doctoral Dissertation Competition

2013 KSMS Doctoral Dissertation Competition

2013 KSMS Master Thesis Competition

Deadline for Submission: April 12, 2013

Chair of 2013 KSMS Doctoral Dissertation and Master Thesis Competition Award Committee:

- Professor Byeong-Joon Moon (Kyung Hee University)

Korean Scholars of Marketing Science is pleased to announce our annual dissertation and thesis competition, designed to acknowledge excellent doctoral dissertations and master theses on important marketing subjects. Submission must be received by April 12, 2013 via e-mail. KSMS will grant Premier Award and Excellent Awards. Each winner will receive an award package.

The submitted dissertation and thesis must have been completed and approved by his/her dissertation or thesis committee in 2012 and 2013.

‘KSMS Doctoral Dissertation and Master Thesis Competition’ is proud of our 15 years award history. Only a few qualified candidates have won this competition. The competition is open to persons with completed doctoral dissertations and master theses in the fields of marketing and related topics worldwide. Participation in other grant or award programs does not preclude consideration for this award. Candidates are required to attend and make presentations in the competition which will be held in the 2013 KSMS Spring International Conference at Hanyang University, ERICA Campus in Kyeonggi-do, Republic of Korea on May 25, 2013. Winner(s) will be announced in the reception of the 2013 KSMS Spring International Conference

Submission Guidelines:

  1. Detailed contact information for you and your dissertation or thesis advisor/chair
  2. WORD or PDF format of your doctoral dissertation or master thesis without any identifying information (names, schools, etc.).
  3. Extended abstract: maximum 5 double-spaced pages including a brief statement of the research problem(s), relevant theory, hypotheses, methodology, analysis, and managerial relevance.

The 2013 KSMS Doctoral Dissertation & Master Thesis Competition Committee will judge submissions by their solidness of the conceptual development, rigor and appropriateness of methodology, potential contribution to academia and business, and creativity.

More Information

PDF Creator    Send article as PDF   

ANZMAC / Korean Scholars of Marketing Science Conference report

The Global Marketing Conference is hosted by the Korean Scholars of Marketing Science and held once every two years. In July this year the co-hosts in Seoul were the Japan Society of Marketing and Distribution, the European Marketing Academy, the International Textile and Apparel Association, and ANZMAC. This makes it one the very largest Marketing conferences in the world, with 1,100 submissions from 44 countries (an acceptance rate of 50%) and 110 sessions. Your International subcommittee of the Executive, of Roger Marshall and Richard Fletcher, arranged for a very successful ANZMAC Symposium, on Co-creation, within the larger GMC conference. Roger is also on the Board of KSMS, which helped smooth the way. The Conference was brilliantly organised, with excellent cultural entertainment, great food, a very high standard of paper and was held in the huge COEX complex in the heart of Seoul.

Our Janet McColl Kennedy acted as Chair of the ANZMAC Symposium, collected and edited the papers, and introduced the topic and speakers in collaboration with Steve Vargo, whilst Ken Deans was a main Conference Co-Chair. Roger was lucky enough to win the “Best Overall Conference Reviewer” Award, whilst Ken was kept busy plotting and planning further cooperation with our Asian colleagues (more of that from him later). The list of Colloquium participants, below, shows a good representation of ANZMAC and Friends, and the standard of paper did you all proud, trust me! ANZMAC is busy keeping our flag flying in Asia!


ANZMAC GMC Symposium speakers

  • Suvi Nenonen, Hanken School of Economics
  • Pennie Frow, University of Sydney Business School
  • Adrian Payne, University of New South Wales
  • Liz Gill, The University of Sydney
  • Ghada Alhothali, Monash University Sunway Campus
  • Rod Brodie, Yuri Seo and Kaj Storbacka, University of Auckland Business School
  • Jyri Rasinmäki, Elina Koivisto and Pekka Mattila, Aalto University School of Economics
  • Alison M. Dean, Matthew Griffin and Alicia Perkins, University of Newcastle
  • Michael Kleinaltenkamp, Freie Universität Berlin
  • Emma Macdonald and Hugh Wilson, Cranfield University
  • Edwin Rajah, Roger Marshall and Roger Baxter, AUT
PDF Printer    Send article as PDF